Jordan Bachynski named Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year

More defensive accolades keep coming for ASU center Jordan Bachynski in his senior season.

Bachynski became the first Sun Devil to win Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, the conference announced Monday.

Bachynski had three game-saving blocks this season that led to ASU wins against Marquette, Oregon and UA. He set the Pac-12 career blocks record this season and currently has 312 blocked shots. His 131 blocks this season also re-sets the single-season record that he broke last season.



Bachynski finished the 2013-14 regular season averaging 11.2 points and 8.4 rebounds per game. His 4.2 blocks per game is the highest average in Division I basketball.

Redshirt sophomore point guard Jahii Carson, last year’s Pac-12 Co-Freshman of the Year, was named onto the All-Pac-12 First Team for the second year in a row. Carson averaged 18.5 points, 5.1 assists and 3.7 rebounds during the 2013-14 regular season.

Senior guard Jermaine Marshall was selected as an All-Pac-12 Honorable Mention. Marshall averaged 15.4 points per game in his only season as a Sun Devil.

The coaches were responsible for voting for the Pac-12 awards and were not allowed to vote for themselves or their own players. Here’s the full list:

Player of the Year: UA junior guard Nick Johnson

Freshman of the Year: UA freshman forward Aaron Gordon

Defensive Player of the Year: ASU senior center Jordan Bachynski

Most Improved Player of the Year: Stanford redshirt junior Anthony Brown

John Wooden Coach of the Year: UA coach Sean Miller

All-Pac-12 First Team

G – Jordan Adams, So., UCLA

G – Kyle Anderson, So., UCLA

G – Jahii Carson, RSo., ASU

G – Justin Cobbs, Sr., California

F – Aaron Gordon, Fr., UA

G – Nick Johnson, Jr., UA

F – Dwight Powell, Sr., Stanford

G – Chasson Randle, Jr., Stanford

F – Josh Scott, So., Colorado

F – Delon Wright, Jr., Utah

All-Pac-12 Second Team

C – Jordan Bachynski, Sr., ASU

G – T.J. McConnell, Sr., UA

G – Roberto Nelson, Sr., Oregon State

G – C.J. Wilcox, Sr., Washington

G – Joseph Young, Jr., Oregon

Honorable Mention: G – Askia Booker, Jr., Colorado; G – DaVonte Lacy, Jr., Washington State; G – Jermaine Marshall, Sr., ASU; G – Mike Moser, RSr., Oregon; F – Richard Solomon, Sr., California

Pac-12 All-Freshmen Team

G – Bryce Alford, UCLA

F – Aaron Gordon, UA

F – Rondae Hollis-Jefferson, UA

G – Zach Lavine, UCLA

G – Nigel Williams-Goss, Washington

Honorable Mention: G – Hallice Cook, Oregon State; G – Wesley Gordon, Colorado; G – Jordan Mathews, California

Pac-12 All-Defensive Team

C – Jordan Bachynski, Sr., ASU

F – Josh Huestis, Sr., Stanford

G – Nick Johnson, Jr., UA

G – T.J. McConnell, Sr., UA

G – Delon Wright, Jr., Utah

Honorable Mention: G – Jordan Adams, So., UCLA; F – David Kravish, So., California; Eric Moreland, Jr., Oregon State; G – Norman Powell, Jr., UCLA

Reach the reporter at or follow him on Twitter @Josh_Nacion

Get the best of State Press delivered straight to your inbox.