ASU's student government candidates announced

Veronica Aguilar adresses the Undergraduate Student Government on Jan. 13 in Tempe. Aguilar discussed federal employment prospects for alumni of the program during the first USG meeting of the spring semester. (Jonathan Galan/The State Press) The Tempe Undergraduate Student Government Senate listens to a speaker on Jan. 13. Candidates for executive and senate positions for 2015-16 were announced on Tuesday. (Jonathan Galan/The State Press)

The candidates for key positions within ASU's five student governments have been announced, and students from all campuses and programs will be able to vote on their representatives in March.

The president, vice president of policy and vice president of services, which run as a ticket, and candidates for the senate at each campus will be elected by students on each campus on March 31 and April 1.

The State Press will have further coverage of these candidates and their platforms. For now, here's the list of candidates.

UPDATE, MARCH 17: A USGW executive board ticket and a candidate for the Tempe USG Senate dropped out of their races.


Executive candidates:

  • Kile Halliday (President), Danielle Earl (Vice President of Services), Wade Adams (Vice President of Policy)
  • Eric Fraizer (President)
Senatorial candidates (12 at-large seats):
  • Kaytlyn N St Yves
  • Joshua Alexander Albin
  • Brandon Lebid-Jurtschyk
  • Julia Christine Anderson
  • James Robert Larson
  • Cameron Wayne Schultz
  • Sara Marie Brancati
  • Stephen Annor-Wiafe
  • Saul Lopez
  • Francisco Roberto Gonzales
  • Bethany Meishal Thielen
  • London Thomas Stackpole
Downtown campus candidates

Executive candidates:

  • Corina Tapscott (President), Katherine Hofland (Vice President of Services), Ryan Boyd (Vice President of Policy)
Senatorial candidates:
  • College of Nursing and Health Innovation: Enrique Zamora III
  • Barrett, the Honors College: Lauren Arenas
West campus candidates:

Executive candidates:

  • Stephanie Michelle Bockrath (President), Joeseph Raymond Muzupappa (Vice President of Services), Rachael Lauren Tashbook (Vice President of Policy)
  • Brandon Olson (President), Meghan Dingman (Vice President of Services), Dakota Larson (Vice President of Policy)
  • Kaci Cadwell (President), Hongbo Xu (Vice President of Services), Christian Gonzalez (Vice President of Policy) (dropped out of race on March 17)
Senatorial candidates:
  • New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences: Agnia Barrientos, Ephraim Infante and Christina M. Weston
Tempe campus candidates:

Executive candidates:

  • President: Isaac J. Miller (President), Karis Felthouse (Vice President of Policy), Marissa Fullford (Vice President of Services)
  • Anthony Zlaket (President), Hyrum Hanlon (Vice President of Policy), Kristie Zamora Becker (Vice President of Services)
Senatorial candidates:
  • Barrett, the Honors College (2 available seats): Daniel Martin (dropped out of race on March 17), Jared Blackwell, Christian Torres, and Isaac Fisher
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (6 available seats): Khashayar Khatiri, Benjamin Eugene Farthing, Joan Catherine LeBeau, Ashwin Tatikola, Aundrea Marie DeGravina, and Jessica B Woo
  • Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts (1 available seat): Felix Herbst
  • Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering (3 available seats): Roman Paolo Pascua, Hugo Ponsonnet, Rocky Camarena, Ngoni Mugwisi, Miguel Padilla, Alex Arena, Aaron Tamaddon, and An Tran
  • Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College (1 available seat): Joe Bourgault and Victoria Hawkins
  • School of Letters and Sciences (1 available seat): Obie Dieke
  • School of Sustainability (1 available seat): Derek Duran
  • W.P. Carey School of Business (2 available seats): Aaron Miller and Andrea Brandle
GPSA: Graduate and Professional Student Association

The Graduate and Professional Student Association also announced candidates, which will be voted on at the same time as USG candidates.

There are two branches for which students can run for office: the Executive Committee and the Assembly. The Executive Committee is composed of a President, a Vice President for Internal Affairs, a Vice President for External Affairs and a Vice President for Professional Development. The Assembly is composed of representatives from each graduate program at ASU.

Executive candidates:

  • President: Pauline Venieris
  • Vice President for Internal Affairs: Jordan Hughes
  • Vice President for External Affairs: Carlo Altamirano-Allende
  • Vice President for Professional Development: Andy Waldron
Assembly candidates:
  • At-Large (2 available seats): Tyler Steven Brown
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS) Humanities (1 available seat): Katherine Anne Brown
  • CLAS At-Large (2 available seats): Yanqin Liu
  • CLAS Natural Sciences (1 available seat): Bahige Gary Abdallah
  • College of Health Solutions (1 available seat): Jessie Erin Green and Tara Mahene Salehpour
  • Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts (2 available seats)Ashley Marie Laverty
  • Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering (6 available seats): Daniel Tomas Burillo, Taruni Kancharla, Parth Padmanabh Nagarkar, Kerem Demirtas, Yash Garg, Vivek Reddy Vanapalli, Irfan Kula, and Rajat Anand Aggarwal, Sushrut Sudhir Dabir
  • Mary Lou Fulton Teacher’s College (3 available seats): Sarah Jane Kilmer and Anna Montana Cirell
  • Sandra Day O’Connor College of Law (2 available seats): David Bakardjiev, Gregory Phillip May and Peter Lucas Krehbiel
  • School of Letters and Sciences (1 available seat): Chun Tao
  • Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication (1 available seat): Guy Matthew Harrison
CORRECTION: Due to a source error, a previous version listed the incorrect candidates for GPSA assembly candidates. Due to a reporting error, a previous version of this article incorrectly stated the position several candidates were running for. This version has been updated with the correct information.


Reach the reporter at or follow @SuerthJessica on Twitter.

Like The State Press on Facebook and follow @statepress on Twitter.

Get the best of State Press delivered straight to your inbox.