Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.

ASU football players get Pac-10 honors

Two members of the ASU football team were named to the All-Pac-10 Conference second team on Monday.

Senior wide receiver Michael Jones, who led the Sun Devils with 61 receptions this season, was named to the team.

Jones’ 744 yards and four touchdowns were also team-highs.

ASU’s defensive captain, senior safety Troy Nolan, also made the conference’s second team.

Nolan scored three touchdowns this season, including one on a 100-yard interception return against UCLA on Nov. 28.

He was also fourth on the team in tackles with 64.

Despite ranking second in the Pac-10 with 11 sacks, junior defensive end Dexter Davis was not named to the Pac-10’s first or second team.

Davis, who has 27.5 career sacks, was named an honorable mention.

Six other Sun Devils were named Pac-10 honorable mentions on Tuesday including: senior quarterback Rudy Carpenter, freshman defensive tackle Lawrence Guy, junior offensive lineman Shawn Lauvao, junior Mike Nixon, senior defensive end Luis Vasquez, sophomore Thomas Weber and junior kick returner Kyle Williams.

Oregon State freshman running back Jacquizz Rodgers was named Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year and Freshman of the Year, while USC senior linebacker Rey Maualuga won the Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year award.

Continue supporting student journalism and donate to The State Press today.

Subscribe to Pressing Matters



This website uses cookies to make your experience better and easier. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.