Carson named Pac-12 Co-Freshman of the Year

ASU redshirt freshman guard Jahii Carson has been named the Pac-12 Co-Freshman of the Year, the conference announced Monday.

Carson shares the award with UCLA freshman guard Shabazz Muhammad.

In addition to being named Co-Freshman of the Year, Carson was also named to the All-Pac-12 First Team and the All-Pac-12 Freshmen Team.

Carson, who was ruled ineligible last season, posted a scoring average of 17.7 points per game, which is the fourth-highest in the Pac-12 and second-highest among NCAA freshmen. His 5.0 assists per game average is the third-highest in the conference and seventh-most among NCAA freshmen. Carson's 35 minutes per game is the most out of any player in the Pac-12.

Ike Diogu was the last ASU freshman to win the conference honor in the 2002-03 season. Jamal Faulkner (1990-91) and Byron Scott (1979-80) were the two other Sun Devils to pick up Pac-10 Freshman of the Year Honors.

ASU senior wing Carrick Felix was named onto the All-Pac-12 Second Team and picked up All-Pac-12 Defensive honors. Felix averaged 14.2 points, 8.2 rebounds, 1.1 blocks and 1.5 steals per game throughout the regular season.

Junior center Jordan Bachynski joined Felix on the All-Pac-12 Defensive Team. Bachynski is three blocks shy from setting the Pac-12 single-season record.


Here's the complete awards list:


Player of the Year: California junior guard Allen Crabbe

Co-Freshmen of the Year: ASU redshirt freshman guard Jahii Carson, UCLA freshman guard Shabazz Muhammad

Defensive Player of the Year: Colorado junior forward Andre Roberson

Most Improved Player of the Year: Stanford junior forward Dwight Powell

John Wooden Coach of the Year: Oregon coach Dana Altman


ALL-PAC-12 FIRST TEAM Name | School | Pos | Yr Jahii Carson | ASU | G | Fr.

Allen Crabbe | Cal | G | Jr.

Spencer Dinwiddie | Colorado | G | So.

Larry Drew II | UCLA|  G | Sr.

Solomon Hill | UA | F | Sr.

Mark Lyons | UA | G | Sr.

Shabazz Muhammad | UCLA | G/F | Fr.

Dwight Powell | Stanford | F | Jr.

André Roberson | Colorado | F | Jr.

E.J. Singler | Oregon | F | Sr.



Kyle Anderson | UCLA | G | Fr.

Justin Cobbs | Cal | G | Jr.

Carrick Felix | ASU | G/F | Sr.

Brock Motum | Washington State | F | Sr.

C.J. Wilcox | Washington | G | Jr.



Kyle Anderson | UCLA | G

Jahii Carson | ASU | G

Damyean Dotson | Oregon | G

Shabazz Muhammad | UCLA | G/F

Josh Scott | COLO | F



Jordan Bachynski | ASU | C | Jr.

Carrick Felix | ASU | G/F | Sr.

Josh Huestis | Stanford | F | Jr.

Arsalan Kazemi | Oregon | F | Sr.

André Roberson | Colorado | F | Jr.


Reach the reporter at

Get the best of State Press delivered straight to your inbox.