Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.

ASU's Jon Rahm wins Ben Hogan Award, given to college golf's best player

ASU golf junior Jon Rahm wins the Ben Hogan Award (screenshot from award's stream)

ASU golf junior Jon Rahm wins the Ben Hogan Award (screenshot from award's stream)

ASU junior Jon Rahm won the Ben Hogan Award, given to the best collegiate golfer, as announced in Fort Worth, Texas, on Monday. 

Rahm becomes the first Sun Devil to ever win the award, which began in 1990. Past winners include Rickie Fowler, who won at The Players Championships recently.

Rahm's accomplishments this season have been nothing short of extraordinary, earning four tournament victories and willing his team to advance in a competitive San Diego regional. He has seven tournament victories in his college career, which ranks third in Sun Devil history. 

Rahm, along with Stanford's Maverick McNealy, another finalist, is on pace to break college golf's single-season scoring record in 2014-15 with just the NCAA Championships remaining. 

In addition to Rahm's success at the college level, he finished tied for fifth at the Waste Management Phoenix Open and is the No. 1-ranked amateur in the world. He said after the Phoenix Open that he would return for a senior season. 

List of past winners

2014 – Patrick Rodgers, Stanford

2013 – Chris Williams, Washington

2012 – Patrick Cantlay, UCLA

2011 – Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

2010 – Nick Taylor, Washington

2009 – Kyle Stanley, Clemson

2008 – Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State

2007 – Chris Kirk, Georgia

2006 – Matt Every, Florida

2005 – Ryan Moore, UNLV

2004 – Bill Haas, Wake Forest

2003 – Ricky Barnes, Arizona & Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State

2002 – D.J. Trahan, Clemson

2001 – Wil Collins, New Mexico

2000 – Chris James, Oklahoma

1999 – Steve Friesen, Nebraska

1998 – Jamie Broce, Ball State

1997 – Jeff Fahrenbruch, Texas

1996 – Mark Wilson, North Carolina

1995 – Trip Kuehne, Oklahoma State

1994 – William Blackmon, Auburn

1993 – Marten Olander, Alabama

1992 – Jon Lindquist, Gustavus Adolphus College

1991 – Brian Bridges, Kent State

1990 – Kevin Wentworth, Oklahoma State

Reach the reporter at or follow @jjanssen11 on Twitter.

Like State Press Sports on Facebook and follow @statepresssport on Twitter.

Continue supporting student journalism and donate to The State Press today.

Subscribe to Pressing Matters



This website uses cookies to make your experience better and easier. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.