ASU wrestling wins third Pac-12 championship in four years

Five wrestlers won individual titles to lead ASU to the team championship

ASU won its third Pac-12 Championship in four years after winning first place in the championships Saturday night at Stanford.

Redshirt sophomore Kordell Norfleet (197 lbs) clinched the title after pinning Stanford redshirt junior Nathan Traxler in just over one-and-a-half minutes, putting ASU ahead in points for the remainder of the meet.

Norfleet, along with graduate student Tanner Hall (285 lbs), redshirt junior Anthony Valenica (174 lbs), redshirt freshman Jacori Teemer (157 lbs) and redshirt sophomore Brandon Courtney also won individual championships.

Redshirt sophomore Cade Belshay, who replaced recently suspended Zahid Valencia in the 184 lbs weight class, finished in third place in that tournament.

ASU won with 141.5 total points, with Stanford placing second with 122 and CSU Bakersfield coming in third with 99.5.

The Sun Devils previously won the Pac-12 Championship in 2017-2018 and 2016-2017.

Reach the reporter at and follow @HorseySeven on Twitter.

Like State Press Sports on Facebook and follow @statepresssport on Twitter.

Get the best of State Press delivered straight to your inbox.



This website uses cookies to make your expierence better and easier. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.