Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.

Anderson Cooper to be awarded the 35th Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism

The CNN anchor will receive the award in Phoenix this October

Screenshot of Anderson Cooper on CNN from November 16, 2007.

ASU’s Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications announced this week that CNN anchor Anderson Cooper will be awarded the 2018 Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism.

The 13-time Emmy award winning anchor will receive the 35th award at a luncheon ceremony on October 17 at the Sheraton Grand in Phoenix.

The Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism recipients are recognized as established journalists who embody Cronkite’s core values.  

The Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communications, and the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism, are named after Walter Cronkite, a broadcast journalist known for reporting on groundbreaking stories in history such as the assassination of president John F. Kennedy, the Apollo moon landings, the Watergate scandal and more. 

ASU's journalism and communications school was named after the famous journalist in his honor in 1984.

Cooper released a statement sharing how he is honored and humbled to accept the award. He said that he is proud to honor Cronkite’s legacy.

“He sparked my interest in journalism at a young age and remains a guiding star for generations of journalists,” Cooper said.

Liz Bernreuter, the Senior Director of Development at Cronkite, said in an email that the Cronkite School Endowment Board’s nominations committee felt that, given Anderson’s body of work as an award-winning journalist, he is highly deserving of this award. 

“He has been bringing important issues to light for many years, and we look forward to honoring him in October,” Bernreuter said.

Cooper’s work as a journalist is highly recognized around the world, making him one of television’s most influential reporters. 

Cooper graduated from Yale University with a B.A. in political science. He has since reported from more than 40 countries and anchored for notable news outlets such as ABC and CNN. On September 8, 2003, Cooper became the anchor of Anderson Cooper 360° on CNN.

Cooper is also a New York Times bestselling author, having published a memoir in 2006 about his journey living and working in Sri Lanka, Africa and other destinations.

There are many notable journalists who have received the Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Journalism throughout the years, including Al Michaels, Diane Sawyer and Bob Woodward. 

Cronkite himself would present the award to recipients, beginning in 1984 until his death in 2009.

Reach the reporter at or follow @jessiemy94 on Twitter. 

Like The State Press on Facebook and follow @statepress on Twitter.

Continue supporting student journalism and donate to The State Press today.

Subscribe to Pressing Matters



This website uses cookies to make your experience better and easier. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.