Skip to Content, Navigation, or Footer.

Hannah Berryman elected USG Tempe president after results delayed

A review from the ASASU Supreme Court disqualified the Nethers ticket, which led to a delay in results and a Berryman victory

USG Tempe for 4.3.23.jpg

The USG Tempe election results were released on Monday April 3, 2023 at noon.

Editor's note: On April 5, the ASASU Supreme Court ruled in favor of the Kelly ticket after it filed an appeal that said ranked choice voting had been improperly implemented to name the Berryman ticket the winner. Kelly, Rogers and Yuspova will be the next team of USGT executives. Read the story here

Hannah Berryman was elected Undergraduate Student Government Tempe president for 2023-24. She will be joined by Abby Oldham as vice president of policy and Sophie Chez as vice president of services. 

Berryman's ticket won with 52.49% of the final vote, defeating Morgann Kelly and her ticket, who garnered 47.50% of the final vote. This election had over 5,000 students cast their ballot on Sun Devil Sync for the executive tickets. 

The results, which were originally supposed to be announced on Thursday, March 30, were reviewed by the ASASU Supreme Court for complaint reviews and advisory opinions and released today in front of Old Main. 

READ MORE: A guide to the 2023 USG Tempe executive officer elections

Initial votes left the Jack Nethers ticket in the lead with over 51% of the vote, but after review from the Associated Students of Arizona State University Supreme Court, they were disqualified because of a campaign conduct violation

On March 31, the court ruled the Nethers campaign violated a rule in the election code that requires campaign finances to be sent to the ASASU Elections Commission by the last Friday before election day, even if no expenses are incurred throughout the course of the campaign.

The Nethers' ticket appealed the decision citing confusing language in terms of forms that had to be submitted weekly for campaign finances but ultimately the decision was upheld and the ticket was disqualified.

Due to the ranked choice voting system, votes were calculated using preferences. Voters who chose Nethers as a first preference had their second preference elevated to first preference after the disqualification. 

In addition to the executive ticket, results for senator positions were announced Monday.

Ryan Bailey and Saxon Read will be the senators for Barrett, the Honors College.

Tiah Hoaglund will be senator for the College of Health Solutions .

Patrick Jackson, Trevor Catlin and Paris Marshall will be the senators for the Herberger Institute for Design and the Arts.

Jack Curcio, Bruno Babastre, Cole Patola, Bradley Breisch, Alex Arnold and Nathaniel Welton will be the senators for the Ira A. Fulton Schools of Engineering.

Ashlyn Germanos, Sara Watson, Isabella Ernaut, Claire Horsfield, Hailey Boiarsky, Miguel Ortega, Penda Sisay, Sami Al-Asady, Samuel Ndinjiakat Jr. and Nickolas Ketcham will be the senators of the The College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Blake Weber, Jake Crosby, Will Ketcham, Sawyer Farris, Jack Thorell and Mason DoVico will be the senators for the W.P. Carey School of Business.

Cooper Kennison will be senator for the Mary Lou Fulton Teachers College.

It is unknown who will be senator of the College of Global Futures.

Edited by Shane Brennan, Reagan Priest and Anusha Natarajan. 

Reach the reporter at and follow @alysa_horton on Twitter.

Like The State Press on Facebook and follow @statepress on Twitter.

Continue supporting student journalism and donate to The State Press today.

Subscribe to Pressing Matters



This website uses cookies to make your experience better and easier. By using this website you consent to our use of cookies. For more information, please see our Cookie Policy.